Cara Mund Crowned Miss America 2018: North Dakota Wins First Crown!

Cara Mund from North Dakota Crowned Miss America 2018

Cara Mund from North Dakota was crowned as Miss America 2018 in the 97th edition of the Miss America pageant. Miss America 2018 was held in Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, New Jersey on September 10, 2017. She succeeds Savvy Shields from Arkansas as the new titleholder of Miss America. This was the first time when North Dakota claimed the title of Miss America.

cara mund miss america 2018 north dakota

The pageant was hosted by Chris Harrison and Sage Steele, who returned to co-host the Miss America pageant for the second year in a row. During the same event, Miss Missouri, Jennifer Davis was titled as the first runner-up, Miss New Jersey, Kaitlyn Schoeffel was adjudged as the second runner up. While, Miss District of Colombia, Briana Kinsey took home the third runner up title Miss Texas, Morgana Wood finished as the fourth runner up.

miss america 2018

Subsequent to winning the crown, the newly crowned Miss America 2018, Cara Mund opined, “Honestly, it was to get to Miss America and make it past the top ten. We’ve only had three girls ever make it this far and so it just proves that it doesn’t matter where you come from geographically, if you have the ability to do it and you dream it, you can do it.”

Miss America 2018: Complete Results


  • Miss America 2018- North Dakota – Cara Mund
  • 1st runner-up- Missouri – Jennifer Davis
  • 2nd runner-up- New Jersey – Kaitlyn Schoeffel
  • 3rd runner-up -District of Columbia – Briana Kinsey
  • 4th runner-up- Texas – Margana Wood

Top 7 Finalists:

  • Alabama- Jessica Procter
  • Louisiana- Laryssa Bonacquisti

Top 10 Finalists:

  • Pennsylvania- Katie Schreckengast
  • South Carolina- Suzi Roberts
  • Virginia- Cecili Weber

Top 12 Finalists:

  • Georgia- Alyssa Beasley
  • Tennessee- Caty Davis

Top 15 Semi-Finalists:

  • Miss Tennessee- Caty Davis
  • Miss Virginia- Cecili Weber
  • Miss Pennsylvania- Katie Schreckengast
  • Miss Louisiana- Laryssa Bonacquisti
  • Miss District of Columbia- Briana Kinsey
  • Miss Texas Margana Wood
  • Miss New Mexico- Taylor Rey
  • Miss Alabama- Jessica Procter
  • Miss Missouri- Jennifer Davis
  • Miss Alaska- Angelina Klapperich
  • Miss Georgia- Alyssa Beasley
  • Miss South Carolina- Suzi Roberts
  • Miss New Jersey- Kaitlyn Schoeffel
  • Miss North Dakota- Cara Mund
  • Miss Illinois- Abby Foster

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: